|[ Print this page ]|
|Brief Description:||Almost four hundred years ago, the first permanent English settlement in North America was established along the James River, not far from the Chesapeake Bay. Jamestown has since become immortalized in history, with the names of Captain John Smith, John Rolfe, Chief Powhattan and his daughter Pocahontas indelibly linked to Jamestown Island. Today, Jamestown Island is home to both history and nature. Explore the remains of the "Old Towne", as well as the "New Towne" where colonists built more substantial homes after 1620. Jamestown Island is administered jointly by the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities and the National Park Service.|
|Location / Directions:||From Interstate 64: Take Exit 242-A (Route 199 to Jamestown). Drive approximately 3 miles on Route 199 to the second traffic signal. Turn right for access to the Colonial Parkway to Jamestown. Drive to the Jamestown National Park Service entrance station at the end of the Parkway.|
|Physical Address:||Jamestown Island
1367 Colonial Parkway
Jamestown, VA 23081
|Mailing Address:||Jamestown Island
PO Box 210
Yorktown, VA 23690
|Visitor Phone:||(757) 229-1733|
Stop at the Jamestown Visitor Center to pick up orientation materials and see a 15-minute introductory film and the museum exhibits. Ask at the front desk about ranger tours of the island, costumed interpreter programs, and children's activities. From the Visitor Center walk to "Old Towne" and "New Towne."
Highlights of the "Old Towne" tour include the original 1639 church tower, current excavation of James Fort, Confederate earthworks, and the foundation of the Third and Fourth Statehouse.In the "New Towne" section of Jamestown, developed after 1620, foundations of many of homes and other buildings were excavated in the 1930s and 1950s. Replicas of these original foundations are scattered throughout the "New Towne" site.
Drive and explore the island on the three- or five-mile wilderness loop drive. Herds of deer inhabit the dense forests around the pitch and tar swamp. Interpretive signs and paintings along the way discuss some of the early industries attempted by the English. Inside the reconstructed Glasshouse of 1608, skilled artisans produce glassware in much the same manner as did 17th-century craftsmen.
|Operating Hours:||9 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, except Christmas Day, New Years Day. Once admitted visitors may remain on the grounds until dusk.|
|Fees:||$10.00 per person over 15 years of age. Tickets good for 7 days. Fee includes: Jamestown Rediscovery archaeological site and laboratory, "Old Towne" and Visitor Center, loop road and glass house.|
|Visitor Facilities:||Visitor Center, Old Towne, New Towne, Loop Drive, Glass House|
|Accessibility:||The Visitor Center, Old Towne, and New Towne are wheelchair accessible, although assistance may be required on unpaved outdoor paths.|